New CEPLAS ECR representatives


Laura Merx and Susanne Vollmer have been elected as PhD representatives, Laura Armbruster and Craig Dent as postdoc representatives.

Laura Merx
Susanne Vollmer
Laura Armbruster
Craig Dent

The representatives will take care of the needs of their peer groups for the next year and organize the Early Career Researcher’s seminar and other activities.

Laura Merx has been elected as joint representative of all Early Career Researchers and regular member of the CEPLAS Steering Committee, and Laura Armbruster as the deputy.

Some more information on the representatives’ background:

Laura Merx did her Bachelor in Molecular and Applied Biotechnology at the RWTH Aachen and the ETH Zurich. She is doctoral researcher in Gunther Döhlemann’s lab at the Institute for Plant Sciences (UoC).

Susanne is doctoral researcher in the group of Götz Hensel (Center for Plant Genome Engineering, HHU). She did her Bachelor in Biology at the HHU.

Laura Armbruster is a postdoctoral researcher in the group of Alga Zuccaro at the Institute for Plant Sciences (UoC). She earned her PhD at the Center for Organismal Studies (University Heidelberg).

Craig is postdoctoral researcher in the group of Korbinian Schneeberger at the Max-Planck-Institut für Pflanzenzüchtungsforschung. He earned his PhD in the lab of Sureshkumar Balasubramanian at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia.


We thank the leaving representatives of the early career researchers, Ilyse Putz, Tatiana Stead, Jan Buchmann and Anthony Piro, for their engagement during the last year!