Dr. Vera Göhre

Research Focus

Our group focusses on smut fungal infection. In the past years, we have established the Brassicaceae smut fungus Thecaphora thlaspeos as a genetically tractable pathosystem in model plants. This fungus infects roots and shoots, growth along the vasculature and spreads systemically in an endophytic manner in its perennial hosts, before producing teliospores in the siliques. We now aim at characterizing the molecular communication between host plant and fungal pathogen to understand the tight balance in this long-term partnership.

The five most important publications

  1. Courville KJ, Frantzeskakis L, Gul S, Haeger N, Kellner R, Hessler N, Day B, Usadel B, Gupta YK, van Esse HP, Brachmann A, Kemen E, Feldbrügge M, Göhre V (2019) Smut infection of perennial hosts: the genome and the transcriptome of the Brassicaceae smut fungus Thecaphora thlaspeos reveal functionally conserved and novel effectors. New Phytol 222(3):1474-1492. doi: 10.1111/nph.15692.
  2. Frantzeskakis L, Courville KJ, Plücker L, Kellner R, Kruse J, Brachmann A, Feldbrügge M, Göhre V (2017) The Plant-Dependent Life Cycle of Thecaphora thlaspeos: A Smut Fungus Adapted to Brassicaceae. Mol Plant Microbe Interact 30(4):271-282. doi: 10.1094/MPMI-08-16-0164-R.
  3. Langner T, Özturk M, Hartmann S, Cord-Landwehr S, Moerschbacher B, Walton JD, Göhre V (2015) Chitinases Are Essential for Cell Separation in Ustilago maydis. Eukaryot Cell 14(9):846-857. doi: 10.1128/EC.00022-15.
  4. Göhre V, Jones AM, Sklenář J, Robatzek S, Weber AP (2012) Molecular crosstalk between PAMP-triggered immunity and photosynthesis. Mol Plant Microbe Interact 25(8):1083-1092. doi: 10.1094/MPMI-11-11-0301.
  5. Göhre V, Spallek T, Haweker H, Mersmann S, Mentzel T, Boller T, de Torres M, Mansfield JW, Robatzek S (2008) Plant pattern-recognition receptor FLS2 is directed for degradation by the bacterial ubiquitin ligase AvrPtoB. Curr Biol 18(23):1824-1832. doi: 10.1016/j.cub.2008.10.063.
Dr. Vera Göhre

+49 0211 81 11529

E-Mail senden

Group Pathogenicity
Institute for Microbiology
Heinrich Heine University Düsseldorf